Is it half empty or half full?

What is it about moms and their ability to teach you lessons and give you advice without even meaning to? Is this just some super power that you automatically get when you become a mom? Or is there some pill you have to take or something? Somebody please let me know, because if/when I ever become a mom, I will be seriously lacking in the Super Woman category…..

 

Anyways, lets have story time first.

The other night, I was sitting on the couch with papers and notes scattered everywhere while I was frantically trying to study for economics and trying to keep my head from spinning in circles while I was waiting for dinner to cook. My mom was sitting on the couch flipping through a Tiffany and Co. magazine while watching TV. Why we were sent a Tiffany magazine is beyond me, but we will roll with it.

After a few minutes of flipping through, she started dying laughing. Like the uncontrollable I cannot even talk and I am going to pee in my pants laughter. Over a Tiffany magazine. I was so confused…and pretty irritated as well because I was getting distracted. After she finally contained herself and could get some words out, she let me know that they were selling and ice bucket for $5000. I still didn’t get it. Ya, so??

She found it hysterical that someone would purchase an ice bucket for $5000, when we find it crazy to buy a $200 bracelet. My ice bucket is from Target in case you were wondering, and it was probably less than $10. We’re super fancy down here.

Her laughter and humor taught me a lesson though. Life is all about perspective. I don’t even bother looking at magazines like that, because I end up getting mad at myself. I question why I am not successful or rich enough to be able to purchase things like that? I feel inadequate and inferior to other people and I am constantly comparing myself to others. Her, she just laughs it off.

After my frustration of her disturbing me, I too started laughing. If I was super rich, I sure wouldn’t spend it on little things like an ice bucket. Well maybe I would. Im not uber wealthy so I can’t really speak. Maybe one day….. 🙂

And then, because one lesson is never enough, she taught me something else the next night.

After coming home from dinner, I asked my mom how it was and what she ordered. She explained to me that she basically ate all vegetables for dinner, while also smirking and trying not to laugh. My mom would never eat all vegetables when going out to dinner. While she isn’t unhealthy in any way, she does love her sweets, and potato chips.

I wasn’t catching on quickly, so she further explained what she meant.

She ate an order of onion strings (fried onions) followed by a wedge salad (topped with bacon and blue cheese dressing) finished with a baked potato (stuffed with cheese and butter) and a few bites of steak. All vegetables?

While this probably wasn’t the healthiest meal, there was something to be learned. I am constantly worried about what I am eating and trying to eat well at all times. I have to get my 5 servings of fruits/vegetables in a day, I try not to eat too much sugar, etc. My diet is far from perfect, let me say, and I LOVE sugar, but I constantly worry about it. My mom, on the other hand, lets things go most times. She enjoys her life and doesn’t stress about the little things. She eats well most of the time, but allows herself to let loose occasionally. That is definitely something I could work on. Life is about perspective. View things with optimism and your life will be that much better.

We followed up that conversation with a debate about potatoes. Are they considered a starch or a vegetable?

Moms. What would we do without them? 🙂

Are you an optimist or pessimist?

 

Leave a Reply

