What would it be like…?

I am sure some of you have seen the video that shows the differences in how adults and kids react to the question of what they would change about their bodies.

This video brought tears to my eyes. A little dramatic? Maybe, but it really hit home.

I was a super happy kid that ate whatever I wanted. I ate my fair share of fruits and vegetables, but I also plenty of kid foods as well. My parents let us eat what we wanted for the most part, without anything getting too out of control. We were never told what we could/couldn’t have and were all pretty healthy kids. I was always really active and pretty slim.

I remember vividly the day I went to the grocery store with one of my friends when I was in 2nd grade. We were running down the aisle ahead of her mom picking out a bag of chips for our sleepover. When I picked up the bag of Ruffles she immediately put them back and told me her mom only allows her to eat Reduced Fat chips. I was so confused. I didn’t even know what reduced fat meant. I probably didn’t even know what a gram of fat was.

Nutrition and food labels are VERY important, but there is something so freeing about being so innocent as a child. Not worrying about calories, fat, weight, body image, etc. For the most part, I just ate as a kid. Calories didn’t exist, and cookies were always ok.

I tried to think back about how I would have answered the question of what I wanted to change in my body when I was a child. I probably would have answered with something ridiculous like having wings or something. Maybe time traveling, because I was 5 going on 35.

What happens when we hit a certain age that we change from accepting ourselves to hating everything about our bodies? Society? Peers? Media?

I have often wondered what life would be like without mirrors or nutrition labels. People might be happier without having calories plastered over their eyes or seeing themselves every three minutes in the mirror. Fad diets might be less prevalent because people wouldn’t even know how to eat low carb or fat free. But then again, maybe it wouldn’t be any different.

One thing I learned from this video was to accept myself. Maybe my stomach isn’t completely flat or I am not as tall as I wish, but I am me. If children can teach us that life isn’t as awful as we make it seem, then is it really?

Instead of moving from acceptance into hate, learn to love yourself. If the worst thing about myself was that I didn’t have fairy wings, I would be okay with that.

What would you want to change about yourself when you were young?

What were your thoughts of the video?

Check out all of the other thoughts

2 thoughts on “What would it be like…?

  1. Totally got a little misty eyed watching that. I definitely went through a looooong period where I hated so many things about my body, but it’s definitely gotten a lot better the older I’ve gotten. Does that mean I always love everything about myself? No. But neither do I want to change things — I’ve simply learned to accept them. I remember working SO hard to shape my body into what I thought it should be… Not only was it exhausting and time-consuming, but it lead to so much self-hate and resentment. I say we need to spend more time working on learning to accept ourselves and less time trying to change.

    Like

Leave a Reply

