Don’t Believe Everything You Read

A few years ago,  I had a very unhealthy relationship with food. I went into a phase where I read only diet and fitness magazines, and believed EVERY.SINGLE.THING. I read in them. My calories dwindled, my variety of food shrank, and my eating rituals became more and more prevalent. But, I was being healthy right? Because they were the diet/fitness experts weren’t they? And I was only following what they said.

It took me quite some time to figure out that maybe, they had it all wrong. 1200 calories a day might make you lose some weight, but it also might make your organs shut down and kill you in the process. Eating no carbs might make you thinner, but you will be laying in bed all day due to lack of energy. Zero grams of fat might make you lose some cellulite, while also making your hair fall out and your brain functioning plummet.

Not everything you read and hear is truthful. People get these crazy ideas into their heads, and think they have the end all be all for losing weight, and being healthy. Sorry, they are usually wrong.

There are so many fad diets and ways to eat anymore, that I cannot even keep up. Are we all supposed to be Paleo, gluten free, no dairy, no sugar, no soy, Whole 30…or just survive on air?

If we all ate whole, natural foods, such as fruits, vegetables, beans, nuts, whole grains, etc. there wouldn’t really need to be fad diets. Health would come more naturally, rather than artificially.

Unless you have allergies or intolerances, what is the purpose of restricting so many foods out of your diet and making life so much harder on yourself?

I started reading blogs a few years ago, when I was trying to mend my relationship with food. I thought that bloggers might have some more rationality than the magazines I had been reading, and might give me some more inspiration to try new things. They did, and most of the blogs I read post amazing ideas and recipes.

But….In the past few months, I have been hearing/reading things that have been giving me (and other readers) some sketchy information. Since when did eating fruit become unhealthy? Eating apples and bananas will not make you gain weight. Maybe if you eat them with other unhealthy things or a ridiculously large amount, but no. Also, eating “clean” 100% of the time is sometimes unrealistic. You are not a bad person for eating something that sounds good, but might not be the most nutritious.

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and what works for one person might not work for another. But, rationalize what you hear and read. Really think about the choices that you make and the ideas and information you take to heart.

As a person who has had an unhealthy relationship with food in the past, sometimes it is hard to separate the truth out of things. Don’t let yourself fall back into or start to develop unhealthy patterns because you read/heard something. And, if you are a blogger, take to heart the information you are feeding readers. Some things you say might affect someone in a way that you didn’t really mean.

Happy Thursday. One more day until the weekend.

Check out all of the other thoughts

4 thoughts on “Don’t Believe Everything You Read

  1. I totally feel you on this. I’m so over feeling like other people are policing or judging what you’re eating.

    But I recognize my past wasn’t healthy and everyone’s in a different place. So I try to accept that everyone has advice as what works for them.

    Like

  2. I totally agree! By coincidence, I’ve been thinking about all of these fad diets the last few days (ever since I made the mistake of reading a ‘health’ magazine while waiting for the dentist – bad idea!). This whirlwind of information makes my head swirl! Now fruit is bad, carbs are bad… and we should all be eating like prehistoric cavemen. Uh, what!?
    I’ve seen so many articles about how grains are ‘killing’ us and how the brain doesn’t need glucose to function. Both of those claims are utterly ridiculous, and it’s sad to think about how much misinformation is out there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

