Being Appreciative and Putting Things In Perspective

I have dreamed of living in another country for quite some time now. For a very long while, I was fascinated with Switzerland. I don’t know why. I have never been there, or known anyone special from there, but it sounded fancy…and fun. The beautiful mountains and greenery, the language. Ughh. Everything.

And then I moved on. I moved on to longing to move to Spain. then Italy. England. France. Thailand. Anywhere! I just wanted to travel someplace and experience all of the different cultures the world has to offer. Traveling has always been a dream of mine, although I haven’t really been able to pursue that passion…YET! Someday soon hopefully.

Anyways, after I started reading all of the blogs from authors in different countries, I realized how lucky I really am to be living in the USA. And more importantly Southern California.

There are so many things readily available (read:peanut butter options) that many people here don’t even realize is a luxury.

Aside from the material things, so many people, myself included, take life for granted. Health, happiness, school, a house, a car, are all things that many people DO NOT have.

This past weekend I went to see the movie, The Good Lie, starring Reese Witherspoon. It is a film about the Sudanese refugees that spend their childhood running away from war and in a refugee camp, before coming to America.

This film was eye-opening and shocking all at once. Having food, water, my family, clothing, etc. are all things I don’t even recognize on a daily basis to be thankful for. There are tons of people in the world who live life in terror, or fear.

Besides informing me of the tragedies that occurred in Sudan, this film made me count my blessings. Every single one of them.

If you haven’t seem the film, I highly recommend it.

Happy Monday. Be thankful for your family. Your friends. Your life in general.

Leave a Reply

