That’s Not Inspirational

Fitspiration. Motivation. Dedication. Healthy. Inspirational.

Pictures of ridiculously in shape and very skinny girls are all over the internet. Some of them are captioned with ridiculous sayings that they claim are supposed to be inspirational to get you motivated to start a healthy lifestyle, or workout. Honestly though, most of those photos do more harm than good.

There are times when your body needs a rest, or you really want to enjoy that piece of pizza or that bowl of ice cream. Will all of your hard work reverse if you do? NO!

I used to get really upset when I saw these “fitspiration” pictures All.Over.The.Internet! Now, I try to think rationally. Are these pictures doing me any good? I try to avoid seeing them now to avoid the feelings they bring up for me.

A few days ago, one of my friends posted a picture of her very thin self on Instagram with a caption going along the lines of “this is what six days a week, hot yoga, and clean eating does for you.” I was alarmed.

I thought to myself, why don’t I look that way? Why aren’t my abs visible like that? Where did my thigh gap go? Why don’t I eat clean every meal of the day?

And then I snapped out of it. I lived that way for way too long and lived in misery. I want to enjoy my life and not be put on a strict plan. Life is too short to not enjoy it.

Before you get down on yourself for missing one workout or not being as skinny as the girl next to you, remember, we are all different. Being healthy means enjoying life. Do not be so hard on yourself.

Fitspiration is not always inspiration.

2 thoughts on “That’s Not Inspirational

  1. yes! i love this! i set a challenge to my fellow blogging friends to post a photo of themselves that they loved. Could be from a while ago could be recent, could be because you loved your size, dress, who you were with or where you are. Say why you were happy and tage the photo pblogdotco so that everyone can search eachothers. The idea is to love you body and yourself through the journey. And as much as everyone has a “body type” or specific weight as their goal, even if you reach it it WILL look different on your body. – great post anyway!

    Like

Leave a Reply

