I used to want to be…

Every other second I change my mind of what I want to do or be. Most of the time I chose things for superficial reasons. That mentality is all changing now.

Throughout my life I have gone through spurts of what I wanted to do with my life. Most of the time though, I didn’t really ask myself what I wanted. I did what I thought would make OTHERS happy, or what was right. Sometimes though, you need to check in with yourself and see what is going to make YOU happy.

1. I used to want to be a veterinarian….because my dad picked that profession out for me before I was even born. We had a running joke that I was going to be a vet while my sister was going to be a dentist. I took it very seriously for many years and was afraid to upset him by not following that path. As I got older though, I realized blood and needles weren’t for me. I like dogs and animals…without seeing them in pain.

2. I used to want to be a financial planner…because they make a lot of money. I thought I would like finance because I am a numbers person. And then I took a finance class…I changed my mind. The hours they work are not ideal.

3. I used to want to be a runner…because they always seem really skinny and burn a lot of calories. All of the cross country girls could eat whatever they wanted. Or so I thought.

4. I used to want to be a swimmer…because it was supposedly the best workout ever. And they burn a lot of calories.

5. I used to want to be a celebrity… because people idolize them and they have oodles of money.

6. I used to want to be Kim Kardashian…and then I questioned my sanity.

But then, I reevaluated my life, and questioned what I really wanted in life. Life isn’t about material things and appearance.

Now I want…

1. To be happy…money does not buy happiness. Being skinny does not buy happiness. Doing things that make you feel good make you happy.

2. To be healthy…life is about moderation. Starving yourself is not healthy. Isolating yourself is not healthy.

3. To be successful… success comes to those with confidence. Confidence comes to those who like and are okay with themselves.

There was a time in my life where I did things that may not have been the best decisions. Starving myself to have complete control and “be skinny”, pursue careers to make sure I was rich, to things others wanted to make everyone else happy. But then, I realized that for me to accomplish anything, I MYSELF needed to be happy. You have to take care of YOU.

Next time you worry about pleasing others or pursuing something materialistic or superficial, take a step back. Happiness and healthiness come from the inside out. Not the outside in.

Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

