Life Is Precious

Life is precious. There is no better way to put it.

After the passing of Joan Rivers (RIP Joan) last week, it really got me thinking. Life is not to be taken for granted. Although you may not think about it everyday, but you are never guaranteed a tomorrow.

I am a person who is always thinking in the future.

 

What will make me happy tomorrow? I will start eating better then… I will be happy when… I will be successful when this happens.

No. I need to change my mindset. What will make me happy right now. This second? Even though it isn’t pleasant to think about it, there may not be a tomorrow.

In other words, how will your loved ones remember you if this was the last time you saw them. I had a dream last night where I was in a fight with my mom. I woke up horrified and upset. If this were the last time I saw my mom, this is not how I would want our time to end.

Last year, my neighbor was killed bike riding by a young girl texting and driving. I always think about his family and how they were left without him. Did they say a proper goodbye before he went on his leisure ride? Did they tell him they loved him?

Life is not a privilege. It is a gift. It can be taken at any moment.

Practice living in the moment and not focusing entirely on the future. Do things that would make you feel good right now. Take time to tell loved ones and friends how much they mean to you. Call grandparents, parents, siblings, etc. that you don’t see as often to have a quick conversation. Never underestimate the power of words.

I was just watching Joan Rivers a few weeks ago on her VMA and Emmy Fashion Police show, and a few days later she was gone. Nobody could have predicted that.

Take time out of your day to spend time with people important to you. It can’t hurt in any way, it only helps.

Happy Sunday. Go spend the rest of it making memories with people important to you.

Leave a Reply

