Papaya Enzymes for Digestion

Happy Saturday!

I hope your weekend is off to a good start, and some exciting things are happening.

Now, lets talk digestion. It is not the most exciting topic, but it has been something that has been on my mind for the past year or so. Sometime last year, I started to get extreme bloating ALL DAY LONG. Morning until night, I would feel disgusting. My stomach looked like someone shoved a basketball inside, or I was 8 months pregnant. It was not a pretty sight. I am not really sure why it was happening, and I am still trying to figure it out.

After going to the doctor and going through some scenarios, we decided it might be due to overconsumption of gas causing vegetables, too much dairy, or lack of good protein sources. My doctor tried to prescribe me some medicine, but I was not going to have any of that. Medicine is not something I am fond of, and didn’t want to be dependent on something artificial.

After researching some other solutions, I came across papaya enzymes. Papaya fruit is a great natural supplement to aid digestion.

Papaya contains an enzyme called papain that is comparable to an enzyme already in the pancreas called pepsin. Papain helps the pancreas to break down proteins to and make them easier to digest, the same way that pepsin does. It strips the peptide bonds of proteins to just the amino acid to make it ready for the body to use. Papaya is also found to help in inflammation and getting rid of damaged proteins.

photo 3 copy 2

 

Instead of eating papaya daily, I found papaya enzyme tablets that are way easier and convenient to eat. They can be found at Trader Joes for fairly cheap, but I am sure that other health food stores would carry them, as well as Amazon.

I have been taking the tablets every day, with every meal for the past 3 months and have noticed a different in my digestion and bloating. I do still get very bloated at certain times of the day, and it never fully goes down, but I am working on figuring out the main problem to eliminate that from my diet. For now though, these offer some support and relief.

If you have digestive problems, you might consider giving them a try.

Do you have trouble with bloating? What helps you?

Leave a Reply

