WIAW- Back to School

Summer is officially over. No more lazy days at home, or lounging at the beach. Sigh. 😦

I have never done a What I Ate Wednesday post before, and sometimes I am not the biggest fan of them. I think they lead to comparison and competition in some cases, which defeats the purpose. Other times though, they give some good insight into new food ideas and new meals to try. This is what I hope to achieve. While I do not want to showcase everything I ate in a particular day, I would like to show some of the things that I can been consuming. Especially since school is back in action, my meals and snacks are going to get a lot more portable and easier to make.

Happy hump day/ WIAW!

P.S. My pictures are less than stellar. They are taken with an IPhone, and I am no photographer.

Breakfast:
photo copy 4

I love the Multigrain hot cereal from Trader Joes. It is a little bit more interesting than just regular oats, and is easy to make. Some mornings I get more creative and use oats, oat bran, and coconut flour. It makes a fluffy and cake like texture. I will have to share the recipe for that soon.

Other days when I am not feeling the whole oatmeal thing, I grab a bagel from school. I usually get a wheat bagel and munch on that during class time.

Lunch:
photo 2 copy

photo 4 copy 2

52C4CDC7-6BA2-2EB3-426A-85063D18D427-3142

Veggie and Grain bowl

These bowls come in packs of three and are super good. I am not usually one to eat prepackaged meals, but these taste good and fresh. They are a little higher in sodium than I like, but they are convenient. I usually steam some fresh broccoli and mix that in with them as well. The bowls themselves contain vegetables, quinoa, black beans, hummus, and rice. They have adequate protein and are filling.

Dinner:


Dinners have been all over the place lately. They have been snacky than normal and nothing fun to look at or share. Maybe next week I will get more creative….

Snacks:

apples and peanut butter

apples and peanut butter

I LOVE apples and peanut butter. (Yes, that is a paper plate. I am not always the classiest) I go through spurts of which apples I like the best. Right now, I am all about Jazz apples. They are so crunchy and juicy. They have just the right amount of tartness without making my lips pucker. Last week I was loving Gala apples and some time before that it was Pink Lady. If they are crunchy and full of flavor…I’m all over them!

Frozen yogurt:

I tried to take a picture, but I ate most of it before I got anything decent. Fail. I am addicted to frozen yogurt. It is kind of a problem. My wallet is suffering. Although it isn’t the healthiest thing for you, there are far worse things to eat. As for now, I treat myself.

I tend to eat a pretty routine diet. Not much changes from day to day. I eat pretty basic for a while and then change things up once I get sick of them. It works for me. For other people, this wouldn’t be ideal, but I am fine with it.

What are your favorite apples?

Do you eat the same everyday, or do you change it up?

2 thoughts on “WIAW- Back to School

Leave a Reply

