All You Need Is A Little Staycation

Happy Labor Day weekend!

Labor Day signals the end of summer. Not too happy about that. I start school again on Tuesday, and have a pretty tight schedule this semester. It is going to be a lot of work! But, the sooner I start, the sooner I am done right? Ya, that’s what I keep telling myself.

I interned this entire summer at an insurance company, which left little time for fun or anything else. Most of my friends and classmates spent the summer traveling to exotic places and frolicking at the beach, while I spent my time in an office. For awhile, I sat and sulked and pitied myself for missing out on fun and wasting my life away, but then I switched my perspective.

Instead of pitying myself, I looked at the positive. I was getting valuable experience in a corporation and making some decent money for myself.

Attending a private school is sometime hard on me. Most of the kids are VERY wealthy and have more money than I could ever imagine. I am not one of those kids. I have to put everything into perspective though. I am VERY fortunate. I have everything I need and want. There are many others that have it WAY worse than I do. Just because I don’t get to go to Europe for months every summer or drive a Porsche, I am still fortunate. Taking a step back from everything is eye-opening. I have to remind myself that I have a lot to be thankful for!

Because I was busy this summer, and strapped for money, I never had a chance to go on a vacation. This wasn’t really a big deal, because I have not been anywhere in a few years, but my mom and I were looking for a quick getaway.

This is where the staycation comes in. Staycations are fabulous! They offer the benefits of going on vacation, but take less time and money. SCORE!

This weekend I went down to San Diego for a few days.

photo 1

It was gorgeous! The weather was perfect. It was about 85 degrees and the sun was shining bright. We spent the days lounging on the beach during the day, and then exploring the city at night.

photo 5

photo 3

photo 2

One of the days, we went to the Del Mar horse races and watched those. I usually attend those every year, which is always really fun.

photo 4

The horses amaze me, by how fast they run.

Overall, the vacation was just what I needed. A quick getaway that was very inexpensive but very relaxing. Instead of dwelling on the fact that I wasn’t able to go on an African safari or backpack Europe like some of my peers, I am thankful for the quick getaway I was able to get.

Staycations are all you need. Think of the positives of every situation and you will find yourself happier on a daily basis. Happy Labor Day!

Leave a Reply

