“Never let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game.”

Fear of spiders. Fear of snakes. Fear of blood. Fear of heights. There are so many fears people have of things that do not affect everyday life. You don’t see spiders or snakes everyday, you don’t climb Mt. Everest everyday, and hopefully you don’t see blood all that often. There are other fears though that people often overlook.

I used to love the movie The Cinderella Story.

 

Yes, the one starring Hilary Duff and Chad Michael Murray. Well, I still do love it, but I don’t like to admit that.

One of my favorite things in the movie though is the quote that is painted on the restaurant wall: “Never let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game” (Babe Ruth).

Fear is a huge hinderance for me. Sure, I don’t like blood, or reptiles and things like that, but those are not the fears I am talking about. I am referring to the fears of everyday life.

I have wanted to start blogging for many many months now. Why haven’t I? Fear. Even though I didn’t realize it, I was afraid of failing. There are so many blogs out there. Some of VERY successful and others are not. I did not want to be the one that isn’t. Fear consumes a lot of me. I have fears about food, weight, what people think of me, success, failures, money, etc. Without even realizing or acknowledging these thoughts, I let them come into my mind.

If I took the time to notice these thoughts, I could rationalize them and try to push them out. Fear only hinders you. When a fearful thought comes to mind, accept it and move on. Do not let it pull you down with it.

Babe Ruth said this quote. He was very successful. It he was fearful or every baseball game he played, he would not have been nearly as good of a player.

Be mindful of your thoughts from now on, and acknowledge when you are feeling fear. Is it rational?

What do you fear? How do you move on from those fears?

Leave a Reply

